top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Zwijack

My Conducting Growth:

Updated: May 30, 2023

The following presentation contains my conducting journey of 2022-2023. Throughout my junior undergraduate year, I took 2 conducting courses by Steven Squires and Emmanuele Andrizzi. I began by learning basic techniques such as fermatas, patterns, dynamics, and cues, with my hands and the baton. Then we began conducting full-length pieces and major repertoire such as Carmina Burana by Orff, Tchaikovsky Symphony 4, Grainger and Lincolnshire Posy. Next we chose middle and high school level repertoire for band, orchestra, and choir. We also held class discussions on how to manage rehearsals and solve problems that may come along. Outside of class, I observed at the CYSO, Jones College Prep, and the Chicago College of performing Arts Chorus. I conducted interviews with the directors of these ensembles afterwards. In the 2nd half of my presentation, I share how I connect these concepts to my own chosen repertoire as a conductor and music educators. I present rehearsal strategies meant to fully engage learners and spark critical thinking. I also refer to local and global issues in the meanings behind the works we learn and perform. I connect these creative strategies and rehearsal problem-solving methods directly to what I learned from my conducting course and my observations.


The time and effort applied in my conducting growth this academic year has helped me gain a better understanding on how to conduct well and rehearse ensembles. I learned to connect what I've learned to my decisions as a music educator, using the perspectives of youth orchestra, high school band, and college orchestra/choir directors. I plan to use this knowledge during my time teaching music to children in my ensembles. My presentation presents how I connect these concepts to provoke collaboration and critical thinking in my students.



13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page