top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily Zwijack

ADHD and ADD in the Music Classroom - 2022

Updated: Apr 27, 2023


The following is a narrated PowerPoint presentation about my Spring 2022 research project on ADHD and ADD. Throughout the past couple months, I have been experiencing the process of conducting research for the 2nd time. I developed 3 potential research topics, finally landing on ADHD and ADD. I recently received a new private student with ADHD and I didn't know what it was, let alone what it stood for. I used this project as an opportunity to learn and to give my student the best chance of success with a teacher that understands their situation. I studied 6 peer reviewed articles and chose 3 for the basis of my research. In the research portion of my presentation, I define ADHD/ADD, talk about laws on learning disabilities, present strategies for music teachers to use for students with ADHD/ADD, and conclude with some significant takeaways. This presentation was shown during a class with 2nd/3rd year undergraduate music education students, and followed with a brief Q and A session. This research presentation demonstrates my evaluation of current teaching strategies and knowledge and shows how I am adapting my teaching to meet the needs of students with ADHD/ADD.


The time and effort applied in my research this semester has helped me gain a better understanding on how to recognize symptoms of ADHD/ADD in students who may be undiagnosed and how to accommodate for students with learning disabilities. I plan to use this knowledge during my time teaching music to children with different learning abilities and experiences. My research presents a variety of information on ADHD/ADD and demonstrates my ability to evaluate my teaching.


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page